//
stay with me
Personal Entries

Welcome to my blog. Let’s call it ours.

Take something familiar, and make something fresh.

Hi. My name’s Benjamin. I’m writing my first novel. I think a lot of folks will enjoy the story that I’m writing.

As I develop the first draft, I will share with you my experiences. I’d like to learn from other writers, and help other writers any way I can. I’d like to share my knowledge of writing, and all things related, that I gain along the way. If I’m lucky I’ll develop some new friendships, and maybe even readers.

If you would like to contact me, please do so at ben.fenton2012@gmail.com.

About Benjamin Fenton

30 year-old writer, living in Ohio. I am currently writing my first novel, a cerebral science fiction thriller called The Phi. I hope to share my experiences as a writer, and the things I learn along the way, with other writers and readers of fiction. I blog about writing and my novel at https://benjaminfenton.wordpress.com/

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Welcome to my blog. Let’s call it ours.

  1. Benjamin, a couple things… I saw that you subscribed to one of my blogs and I want to be sure you get what you pain for. You subscribed to Nobody’s Normal and that’ my blog about living in a family touched with disability – my son has Cerebral Palsy. I’d love your thoughts there, but my writing blog is http://www.discoveringwriting.wordpress.com if you are wanting to join the author talk. 2) Jacqui, who commented above, has been an encouragement to me too. I’ve subscribed to her blog, http://www.worddreams.wordpress.com, and get good stuff from there almost every week. She give you ggod stuff on her blog and thoughtful feeback on your posts. 3) An interesting thing about the memoir is that it allows you to “make sense of your life.” Zinsser talks about it in “On Writing Well” in the chapter on memoirs. You can do it!

    Posted by ryan85 | 10 January, 2012, 10:08 am
    • I’m definitely interested in reading both your blogs, though I admit that I subscribed in reciprocity. Thank you for the recommendations too, and perhaps I’d better start taking notes and dredging up those nasty things, what’re they called? Oh yeah, memories! Yeah, I’ll need those to write a memoir. Dang it. 🙂 But, if I could make a little more sense of things, I think I’d be better for it.

      Posted by Benjamin Fenton | 10 January, 2012, 10:39 am
  2. I’m curious to see what you’re learning. I’m in my thirties too, I’ve self published my first book – a memoir, I’m writing another non-fiction piece currently, but the novel is next on my list. I started a new blog about my discovery of writing and the writing process. I’m a work in progress, but I’d love your participation. Thanks for starting this one. http://www.discoveringwriting.wordpress.com

    Posted by ryan85 | 9 January, 2012, 1:24 pm
    • I’ll stop over and check yours out. I write lots of non-fiction stuff too, though I’ve always thought it would be too difficult to make enough sense of my life to write a memoir 😀 I admire those that can! I hope to see you around.

      Posted by Benjamin Fenton | 9 January, 2012, 7:13 pm
  3. Some of my favorite blogs track the writer’s experiences as they develop their novel. It’s surprising how many of us go through the same worries and huzzahs in our trek.

    Posted by Jacqui Murray | 9 January, 2012, 10:39 am

Leave a Reply

Tip:

Make the page easier to read by zooming.
Windows and Linux users: Press Ctrl and hit +/- or Ctrl+mouse wheel
Mac users: Press the +/= key while also holding down Command

Follow on Twitter

(Outbound link)
