//
stay with me
The Phi

I should be writing!

So that’s what I’ll do. I had to take a break though, because I got really stuck in a dialogue scene that turned into a crazy infodump. I struggled with this thing for three days. Then it dawned on me to ditch almost the entire thing, go simple, and reveal more facts in the details, dialogue, and situations which follow. It can be so easy to get stuck in parts where there’s not much action going on, and determining how much information, when to give it and how to do so can be a pain in the neck! I’ve decided to just suck it up, and move on through the scene. As the story unfolds further, I’ll be able to look back and make a little list of how much info I’ve revealed, in chronological order. I’ll do this after I’ve gotten a bit of space from the book, and then go to my computer, clear my mind and put myself in the shoes of the reader. I’ll pretend that I don’t know anything about the story, and although I can’t be completely objective, I’ll use the techniques I’ve read from “method” actors and teachers to put myself in the role of an unfamiliar reader.

Speaking of which, method actors and teachers have a lot of incredible techniques that we writers can learn from. I try to use some of those methods to get into my characters’ heads. I highly recommend reading about what method actors do in their classes as they learn the technique. It’s really tough stuff to master (I sure haven’t!), but it’s worth looking into.

About Benjamin Fenton

30 year-old writer, living in Ohio. I am currently writing my first novel, a cerebral science fiction thriller called The Phi. I hope to share my experiences as a writer, and the things I learn along the way, with other writers and readers of fiction. I blog about writing and my novel at https://benjaminfenton.wordpress.com/

Discussion

3 thoughts on “I should be writing!

  1. The method acting idea is an interesting one. I also agree with Magic Mint; sometimes it’s easier to word vomit and perfect it in the re-write. As Stephen King would say, keep moving the story forward.

    Posted by ryan85 | 25 January, 2012, 9:32 am
  2. Go with the gut when writing. I find that helps. And write without a care, and revise later. That helps too. And thanks for the tip.

    Posted by magic mint | 18 January, 2012, 9:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Tip:

Make the page easier to read by zooming.
Windows and Linux users: Press Ctrl and hit +/- or Ctrl+mouse wheel
Mac users: Press the +/= key while also holding down Command

Follow on Twitter

(Outbound link)
